Natural Morning Skincare Routine

IMG_1518

Let’s talk skincare!

Living consciously isn’t just about consuming healthy foods, it’s also about taking care of your skin naturally which is what I try to do with my daily morning skincare routine.

A little history…

I have to be honest. It took me to almost 24 before I developed any sort of “real” skincare routine. I used to just wash my face in the shower and lazily take my makeup off with a wipe before bed. This really wasn’t cutting it. As I started taking care of my health from the inside with food and yoga, I realized that I was going to need to start taking care of myself on the outside too.

There are two main issues that I need to treat with my daily routine. I have very sensitive and dry skin that acts up quickly and viciously if I use a product that it doesn’t like. I’m prone to eczema on my neck, chin and eyelids and general dryness on my forehead nose and cheeks. Depending on what I eat or if I’m in a high stress period, I can get whopping pimples on my cheeks right where you would apply bronzer. Because of this, I work on different problems at different times of the day. In the morning I tend to focus on keeping breakouts at bay and bringing a “glow” to my skin, whereas in the evening (Natural Nighttime Skincare Routine coming soon!) I focus a lot more on moisturizing.

You’ll notice that I use very few products. Through trial and error (and lots of different brands), I’ve found what works with my skin and I’m pretty stuck to it. I don’t think that loading on product, on product, on product is necessarily the best approach to skincare. I recommend finding one or two things that you know work for you and commit to them! Your skin will thank you!

So without further ado, my morning skincare routine…

I start my day by washing my face with the Angels on Bare Skin facial cleanser from Lush ($13.95-$33.95).

IMG_1529

Angels on Bare Skin is a fantastic cleanser that is vegan, made exclusively of natural ingredients and is paraben free (parabens are nasty little chemical preservatives that may cause cancer and mimic estrogen). Angels on Bare Skin has three main ingredients; kaolin clay, almonds and lavender. Kaolin clay is naturally full of essential nutrients and works as a deep cleanser that is friendly for dry or sensitive skin. The clay detoxifies by pulling impurities and dirt from your pores, creating soft and beautiful skin. Ground almonds work as a natural exfoliator, sloughing away dead skin cells and leaving brighter skin in it’s wake. Almonds are full of antioxidants, vitamins and omega-3 fatty acids which helps them in their skincare goals. Almonds are great for evening out discolouration, treating acne and treating skin upset (such as inflammation, eczema and psoriasis). The vitamin E from the almonds is also especially good at fading acne scarring! The final helper is lavender. Lush uses both lavender flower and lavender oil in their Angels cleanser (you can see the petals in the clay). Lavender is famous in the world of aromatherapy for being soothing, purifying and almost sedative-like, in fact simply smelling lavender can bring down stress levels and put you in a more peaceful state of mind. Because lavender is so comforting mentally, it shouldn’t be a shock that lavender is amazing at calming angry and irritated skin. Lavender is great at boosting circulation and bringing more oxygen and nutrients to your cells, leaving a beautiful glow wherever it touches. With these three skin superheroes, Angels on Bare Skin is so great at leaving my sensitive and dry skin super soft, touchable and radiant.

After washing my face, I like to use a facial toner. In the morning I use Lush’s Tea Tree Water ($9.95-$21.95).

IMG_1526

Another Lush favourite, this toner is vegan and alcohol free. Alcohol is definitely an ingredient that you want to avoid in skincare as it is very drying, practically leeching all the water out of your skin and leaving it dull. Because this Tea Tree Water doesn’t contain alcohol, it effectively brightens your complexion, leaving you looking fresh and awake! Exactly what we need in the morning! Tea tree oil is native to Australia and pretty famous for being a skin saviour! Probably most well known for quickly getting rid of acne and pimples, tea tree oil is a skin saviour no matter what your issue. Tea tree oil has antibiotic properties, meaning it is effective at killing or impeding microorganism growth, making it great for healing skin infections, spots or irritations. Our next awesome ingredient is juniper berries, who are fantastic at clearing up eczema and acne (seeing a pattern yet?) Juniper berries are both astringent (tightening pores) and antiseptic (reducing the possibility of infection), they’ll make your face look young and fresh while fighting off the possibility of any breakouts! Perfection!

After applying toner to my face, I like to give my skin some time to digest by having a big mug of hot water with lemon and reading a book. When I finish my water, it’s time for the next step; moisturizing. Moisturizer has always been a difficult one for me. As I mentioned, my skin is so sensitive that any fragrance or weird chemicals will cause my face to burn and immediately break out into a rash, which is why I was so thrilled to have found Sukin’s Sensitive Facial Moisturizer (Rexall, $9.99)

IMG_1531

Sukin is a great Australian brand whose products are cruelty free, carbon neutral and free of all the baddies that we tend to find in most drugstore skincare. I’m talking no parabens, unnatural fragrances, animal products, sulfates… the list goes on and on! I love rubbing it into my face and neck because this moisturizer feels so luxurious and calming, like I’m using a super high-end product. I’ve noticed that my skin is softer and it creates a nice even base for my makeup! Sukin uses shea butter to moisturize and improve all sorts of issues like blemishes, wrinkles and eczema (surprise, surprise!). You’ll also find aloe vera in this moisturizer, which Egyptians called the “plant of immortality”. I’m sure you know that aloe is great at treating burns, so naturally it is gentle and soothing in your everyday routine as well as being fantastic at treating acne! A third miracle ingredient is sesame oil! Not just for cooking, sesame oil is incredible for your skin. First mentioned as skincare in the Vedas (ancient Indian texts), sesame oil was often used to heal skin inflections, which is why it is such a great find in your daily moisturizer!

After letting all that settle in, my final step is to use sunscreen! (I currently do not have a favourite, any suggestions are welcome!) I have naturally very fair skin, so I am a fan of SPF50. You should be sure to use sunscreen every single day no matter what kind of weather you’re seeing outside! When looking for a sunscreen it is important that the bottle says that it is a broad spectrum UVA/UVB formula. UVA rays are long wave, meaning that they can go through windows (so you aren’t safe even if you’re inside!). UVA rays penetrate the skin more deeply than UVB and are the leading cause of aging and wrinkles. UVB rays on the other hand are the short waves that can cause skin cancer! You need to be protected from both!

As you can see, you do not need a fancy skincare routine with hundreds of expensive products to take care of your skin! Find what works and stick with it! If you have trouble that you cannot identify, it always helps to speak to someone at a store who can help pinpoint your problem areas and suggest products to help you out!

So let me know, have you used any of these products? Is there something you would like to recommend for me? And stay tuned because my evening skincare routine will be posted next week!

Namaste.

(Note: I am not sponsored by Lush or Sukin, I am not being paid or asked to review these products or share them with you! I genuinely adore these skincare items and thought you’d like to know about them!)

7 thoughts on “Natural Morning Skincare Routine

  1. Pingback: Natural Nighttime Skincare Routine |

  2. Pingback: Occasional Skin Saviour: Grease Lightning |

  3. Pingback: Daily Morning Routine | Om Shanti Life

Leave a Reply

