Tea Time Treats – Peppermint Tea

Something you should definitely know about me: I am obsessed with tea. My tea collection rivals Carrie’s shoe collection in Sex and the City and if you saw it, you would probably deem me insane! Living two blocks from a DAVIDs Tea definitely didn’t help my little problem but I figured I could use this blog to let you guys know what I’ve been loving lately! Enter Tea Time Treats; a new series on this blog where I will occasionally let you know what teas I’ve been loving and why.

Lately I’ve been craving Peppermint Tea to end my day.

IMG_1608

While I drink Green Tea and water though out my day, I love wrapping my hands around a warm mug of Peppermint Tea and watching a movie or reading a book when winding down after a long and busy day.

Peppermint Tea is made from the leaves of the peppermint plant, a hybrid mint that is a cross between spearmint and water mint. Peppermint in it’s many forms (oils, herbs, teas) are used for a variety of reasons in holistic and ancient medicine including soothing nausea, preventing vomiting, easing stomach pain and discomfort from indigestion and bloating.

IMG_1581

Peppermint Tea is a naturally caffeine free, herbal tea that is phenomenal for aiding stress relief and relaxation. Peppermint Tea is amazing to drink before bed as it is a natural muscle relaxant because it is high in menthol. Menthol is also great for helping clear out your sinuses, making Peppermint Tea a great choice when you have a chest cold, sinus problems or allergies. Inhaling Peppermint not only immediately clears out the sinuses but also can enhance memory and alertness! You don’t need to have coffee in the morning or before a high pressure event to feel awake, a good inhale of peppermint will do the trick!

Back to actually drinking the tea…

I enjoy a nice mug as part of my evening routine because not only does the peppermint act as an excellent stress reliever, but it is also very cooling and helps aid in digestion by having a soothing effect on the stomach muscles.

Not only that, but my tea bags give me happy messages!

IMG_1576

Do you enjoy Peppermint Tea? Or do you have another favourite nighttime or cold season beverage?

I’ll be here with my mug waiting to hear from you!

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

