Natural Nighttime Skincare Routine

Last week I posted my Natural Morning Skincare Routine and today, as promised, I’ll be sharing with you my Nighttime Skincare Routine!

IMG_1519

If you’ve read about my morning skincare routine, then you know that my main skincare worries are sensitivity, dryness and the occasional pimple. In the morning, I focus on prevention and getting a natural daily “glow” and in the evening, I worry about deeply moisturizing and cleaning my skin. You’ll notice that my nighttime skincare routine isn’t quite as hammered out as my morning skincare routine. I’m still trying out new and different products and brands to find out what best works for my skin. I do feel that it’s best to remove makeup, cleanse, tone and moisturize but I’m definitely open to your suggestions if you’d like to leave a comment below!

Without further ado…

After a long day, one of the best feelings is removing all makeup. To do this, I use Garnier + Nourishing Cleansing Oil for Dry Skin ($9.99 Drugstores).

IMG_1651

This cleansing oil is incredible for removing all makeup and impurities from the skin before continuing on the rest of my routine. This Garnier + Nourishing Cleansing Oil is paraben free and it’s functioning ingredients are jojoba oil and macadamia oil. The combination of oils break down makeup and deeply moisturize then skin. Jojoba (pronounced “ho-ho-ba”) oil is fantastic for sensitive skin as it is gentle and full of vitamin E and antioxidants. Vitamin E is not only nourishing, but is also effective in clearing up scarring, dark spots and even healing blemishes. Macadamia oil is another fantastic ingredient for dry skin. Macadamia oil is a lightweight oil full of fatty acids; oleic acid (moisturizing and regenerating), linoleic acid (stops trans-epidermal water loss thus keeping skin plump and hydrated) and the most important fatty acid in skincare, palmitoleic acid. Palmitoleic acid (Omega-7 fatty acid) is a natural fatty acid found in our skin, it helps treat burns, heal wounds and is extremely important in keeping skin looking fresh and young by delaying skin cell aging. Macadamia oil has contains extremely high percentage of palmitoleic acid (roughly 16-23%) so it helps balance oil production, heals acne scarring, reduces itchiness and inflammation from eczema and other skin irritations and is expert at handling dry skin. Using this Garnier + Nourishing Cleansing Oil to remove makeup in the evening is great because it feels very extravagant. You pump the Cleansing Oil into your palms and warm it up by rubbing your hands together, then gently rubbing it into the skin. This oil is gentle enough to use around the eyes and removes eye makeup easily. Though this oil is paraben free, there are synthetic ingredients and fragrance, which isn’t ideal. If you have any suggestions for a makeup removing oil that is all natural, please do not hesitate to leave a comment, otherwise I intend to purchase jojoba oil and macadamia oil and create a homemade mixture for the same effect.

After luxuriously removing all of the day’s makeup, I wash my face with a daily cleanser. At the moment I am using the Live Clean Foaming Daily Cleanser ($9.99 Drugstores).

IMG_1530

Though I typically use a gentle milk cleanser (Yes to Cucumbers Gentle Milk Cleanser to be exact), I saw this Live Clean Foaming Daily Cleanser at the drugstore and decided to give it a try! Foaming cleansers tend to cater to more oily skin and this one is no exception, however it does contain some great ingredients for dry skin! This Foaming Cleanser contains lavender (read more on lavender in my Morning Skincare Routine), milk thistle (softens skin), mallow (soothes dry skin), aloe and buckthorn (nourishing, restorative and regenerating) among other sensitive skin soothers! Cucumber is present in this cleanser, helping it to fade dark spots, improve and even out the complexion and tighten pores! Our super saviour ingredient in this cleanser is chamomile. You may know of chamomile from the delicious herbal tea that is full of healing properties, an herbal remedy for everything from insomnia to anxiety to stomach upset but it is for more than drinking! Chamomile in our skincare is brilliant at both cleansing and moisturizing the skin, soothing irritations, fighting breakouts and because it is high is antioxidants, the chamomile will protect the skin from harmful and aging free-radicals. Though this Live Clean cleanser has been effective on my dry skin, I would recommend it primarily for oily or combination skin, simply because it can be a little too drying.

Once I’ve finished removing all my makeup and cleansing, I enjoy using a toner. You’ll remember that in the morning I use Lush’s Tea Tree Water and I love Lush’s Eau Roma Water at night (Lush $9.95-21.95).

IMG_1650

Lush’s Eau Roma Water is a super toner made from two incredible sensitive skin saviours, lavender oil and rose oil. I enjoy using this toner at night because it is so good at restoring parched skin, leaving it soft, hydrated and touchable. As mentioned in my Morning Skincare Routine, lavender oil is perfect for sensitive skin! Lavender both fights and treats eczema by adding moisture to the skin and soothing any irritation and itchiness and because lavender is antiseptic and anti-inflammatory it fights bacteria and redness! Finally lavender oil increases circulation of oxygen and nutrients to cells so your skin will be bright and vibrant! Working hand in hand with lavender oil is rose oil! While lavender works hard to help the skin produce sebum (a natural oil-like substance that prevents skin from drying out), the rose oil is working double time to nourish and cool the skin. Rose oil is quite astringent, meaning it evens out skin tone and generally improves the appearance of the skin by refining the skin texture. Rose oil is anti-inflammatory and antiseptic so while it is cooling down redness and irritation on the skin, it is also actively reducing the possibility of a skin infection. One of my personal favourite reasons for using Lush’s Eau Roma water at night is the luxury of using a spray toner and the wonderful smell. Both lavender and rose are used in aromatherapy and have been shown to treat anxiety and depression! Having a spray of these oils before bed calms me down and lessens the anxieties of the day before sleep!

The final step of my evening skincare routine is moisturizing, one of the most important steps in my routine! Without a daily deep moisturizing, my skin can feel tight, lacklustre and unattractive. Enter coconut oil:

IMG_1534

That’s right my favourite moisturizer is simply coconut oil! Coconut oil is gaining a lot of traction in the beauty world at the moment, and for good reason! Coconut oil is an out-of-this-world natural moisturizer that works gently and is more or less a cure-all product! Coconut oil is made up of medium chained fatty acids and saturated fats, which work to repair and strengthen the skin barrier and trap water underneath keeping your skin nice and hydrated! Coconut oil is anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial (see a pattern?!) so it will soothe dry, reddened and unhappy skin, and keep the bacteria away! Similar to the vitamin E in our jojoba oil, coconut oil works superbly at evening out dark spots, lessening scarring and stretch marks and improving skin tone. Gentle enough for an eye cream, a dab or two of coconut oil around the eyes will improve dark under-eye circles and prevent wrinkles. Because it can take a bit of time (10 mins) for coconut oil to fully absorb into the skin, I like to use it as a deep moisturizer and night and will use this oil on my entire body, face included. The coconut is sweet and nutty, and smells just like an expensive product, though this organic oil works just as well (if not better), without any weird ingredients, and for a fraction of the price! Coconut oil is not just a great body moisturizer, but you can also use it as a deep conditioner for hair and for cooking! Let me know in the comments if you would like to see a post with all the great uses for coconut oil! You can purchase coconut oil at most grocery stores, though I do want to stress that if you or a family member or loved one have an allergy, do make sure to read the ingredients and ensure that there is no cross contamination! I have used coconut oils that have a peanut/nut warning, and I have used some that say that they were made in a nut free facility, make sure to read your labels!

So there you have it! My Natural Nighttime Skincare Routine to go along with last week’s Natural Morning Skincare Routine! I intend to update this as I find proper replacements for my makeup removing oil and moisturizing cleanser, but this is an accurate representation of my Nighttime Skincare from the past few months!

Let me know, have you tried any of these products? Is there anything that you would recommend to me? Anything you’d like me to suggest to you? And stay tuned, next week I’m uploading my Occasional Skin Saviours, products that I don’t need everyday but are in my bathroom cabinets at all times in case of an emergency!

Namaste.

(Note: I do not work for any of the brands mentioned, nor am I being paid for or asked to speak about them. I adore Lush and am having fun trying out new products to add to my arsenal!)

2 thoughts on “Natural Nighttime Skincare Routine

  1. Pingback: Occasional Skin Saviour: Grease Lightning |

  2. Pingback: An Aloe Miracle: Review of The Body Shop Aloe Products |

Leave a Reply

