Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Split Smoothie

When I was a little girl, nothing pleased me more than a chocolate milkshake, I loved how delicious and cool it felt going into my stomach and ordered one every Saturday at lunch with my parents. Another favourite was ice cream, my brother and I used to play with our ice cream, making caves and forests in our bowls, trying to be the last to finish eating so that we could rub it in the other’s face that we still had food left. I loved ice cream so much that I would literally lick the bowl.

As I grew up my sweet tooth sort of faded away, but now and again nothing hits the spot quite like a chocolate milkshake or an ice cream sundae. This smoothie is the best of both worlds!

Enter the Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Split Smoothie!

  IMG_1657

You’ll only need six ingredients for this delicious treat!

1 (or 2) bananas

1 tbsp 100% cocoa

1 tsp vanilla (you can also sub maple syrup)

1 spoonful 100% peanut butter (without added sugars and chemicals is best)

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 cup nut milk of your choice (I used unsweetened almond milk)

ice cubes

IMG_1654

Put all these ingredients into a blender, blend them up and voila! An extremely yummy smoothie for whenever you need a sweet fix!

The chia seeds have a bunch of excellent benefits, read all about them here. 100% cocoa is full of anti-oxidants, flavanoids (which benefit your cardiovascular system, nervous system and mental function) and magnesium (works to create and maintain cell health). As I’m sure you know, bananas are full of potassium which is necessary for heart, kidney and organ health! Not only is this smoothie super delish but healthy too!

IMG_1661

Let me know how you enjoy this smoothie! I hope that you love it as much as I do! It’s great as dessert, after a workout or even for breakfast!

Stay tuned for some more delicious recipes!

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

