Occasional Skin Saviour: Grease Lightning

If you’ve read my Natural Morning or Nighttime Skincare Routines, then you may already know that I don’t often deal with breakouts. However, much like any other human being in times of highs stress, or if I haven’t been eating the right foods, I can suffer the occasional pimply nightmare. I don’t know if it is because my skin is often clear, but I swear when I get a pimple they are larger, redder and more obvious than one would expect. Luckily I have found my dream product, Grease Lightning by Lush ($13.95).

IMG_2151

Grease Lightning is honestly a miracle product, and I do not say this lightly. When I feel a breakout coming, I will wash my face and apply a thin layer of this clear spot cleansing gel onto the site of the potential pimple and in the morning my skin will be clear. Acne avoided!

The amazing results are the product of the natural ingredients inside of the cleanser. Most notably, we have tea tree oil. Again, you may be familiar with the benefits of tea tree oil as I have mentioned them before, but it’s worth repeating; tea tree oil is nature’s cure-all. Tea tree is naturally antiseptic, antibacterial and a disinfectant, meaning that the oil will prevent the growth of microbes and bacteria while cleaning the skin. Because tea tree is natural, it won’t strip the skin of it’s natural oils leaving skin dry or flaky. Tea tree is especially great for acne because it gets into the skin to unblock pores and dry out pimples. It works fantastically on both whitehead and blackhead pimples!

Grease Lightning has a very pleasant scent thanks to the addition of thyme and rosemary! Yes, these herbs smell great, but they are also fantastic skin saviours! There are numerous benefits to using natural oils versus harmful chemicals; in skincare natural oils are strong enough to combat breakouts, but gentle enough to treat dermatitis, psoriasis and eczema as well! Like tea tree oil, thyme is antibacterial and antiseptic, however thyme has the added bonus of also being an antioxidant. Antioxidants fight free radicals which contribute to sagging and wrinkles in aging skin. Though thyme is comparable to benzoyl peroxide, it is gentle to the skin, considered an anti-inflammatory and can be used to treat eczema, where benzoyl peroxide can be drying. Rosemary is also used as an antiseptic and is extremely antioxidizing! Rosemary oil is often used to rehydrate, rejuvenate and tone the skin. Rosemary has also been known to reduce wrinkles and under-eye bags and even lighten scars and dark spots!

IMG_2149

There are three other important ingredients used to treat our breakouts in Grease Lightning. Aloe vera, witch hazel and green grapes. You may be thinking, “Green grapes belong in my wine glass not in my skincare!” but they’re superb in both! An unlikely ingredient, green grapes are rich in vitamin E (to help soften skin) and vitamin C (to promote collagen production)! Green grapes are an antibacterial, an antioxidant and are often used to reduce redness and inflammation, tone skin and protect against sunburn! I’m not suggesting you rub grapes on your face instead of your daily sunscreen, but it’s interesting knowing what grapes can do for our skin! Our next ingredient, aloe vera, is also famous for stepping in where the sun is concerned. You may be familiar with the use of aloe to soothe a bad sunburn, but it is much more than that! Aloe is incredible for sensitive skin, so while tea tree, thyme and rosemary are doing their business cleaning out our pores and saving us from a breakout, aloe is making sure that our sensitive skin doesn’t hurt in the process! Because aloe is notoriously calming, it should be no surprise that it prevents rosacea, eases eczema and psoriasis and can even help heal minor wounds! Finally, we have witch hazel. Witch hazel is naturally astringent, so it tightens pores after the other ingredients have done their work getting all the bacteria out. Witch hazel is full of tannins, which helps lock in moisture and leaves the skin looking young and fresh! Witch hazel is naturally fantastic at healing redness, discomfort, itchiness, scarring and swelling, things that we are definitely worried about when trying to keep a pimple at bay!

It should be obvious now why I think Grease Lightning is such a Skin Saviour! It’s a hard working spot cleanser that is gentle and safe enough for my extremely sensitive skin! If you find yourself with nasty breakouts and gravitating to drugstore products full of nasty chemicals that just aren’t working, I would undoubtably try Grease Lightning! You can use it as both a spot cleanser or apply a thin layer to larger troubled areas. You do not need a lot of product for the ingredients to do their jobs, so though it may seem pricier than drugstore spot treatments you will definitely be getting the most from your dollar! I have been using mine for a few months now and have barely made a dent in the bottle!

Have you tried Grease Lightning before? Do you love it as much as I do? Or have you found your own natural miracle worker? Let me know in the comments I’d love to hear from you!

Namaste.

(Note: I purchased Grease Lightning with my own money. I am not sponsored or working with Lush. I am not being compensated or asked to make a review. I genuinely adore Grease Lightning and think it is a miracle worker!)

Leave a Reply

